One Dance UK announces shortlisted nominees for its first-ever Dance Teaching Awards

One Dance UK today announced the names of 27 shortlisted nominees, across nine award categories, for its inaugural Dance Teaching Awards. One Dance UK received 886 nominations from pupils, parents, colleagues and friends of hundreds of teachers, practitioners and dance organisations across the UK, that provide opportunities for children and young people to dance.

The shortlisted nominees were carefully chosen by a selection panel made up of industry professionals brought together to represent a broad range of education knowledge and expertise. The selection panel of Geoff Barton, Althea Efunshile (CBE), Linda Jasper (MBE), Carolyn Lappin and Piali Ray (OBE) said:

We are very proud to have been asked to select the finalists in this ground-breaking first year of the One Dance UK Awards. We were overwhelmed by both the quantity and quality of the 886 nominations. They demonstrate just how important dance is in our schools and how keen the profession is to celebrate the many individuals and organisations who are using dance to transform the lives of young people. We are delighted to be able to recognise so many amazing people doing so much to communicate the inspiring power and relevance of dance across the UK.

Claire Somerville, Head of Children & Young People’s Dance at One Dance UK added:

I’m delighted by the level of interest we have had in the Awards and see them as a key way for us to champion dance education and participation, particularly in challenging times for dance provision in school. The Awards have provided a wonderful opportunity for people to express their gratitude for the dance teachers, leaders and organisations that dedicate their time, energy and expertise into furthering opportunities for young people and we’re looking forward to celebrating with all the shortlisted nominees in July.

The winners of the One Dance UK Dance Teaching Awards will be announced at an afternoon tea and ceremony on Sunday 16 July at Birmingham Hippodrome on the final day of U.Dance Festival 2017.

The three shortlisted nominees for each of the nine awards are:

Rising Star Award – sponsored by Trinity College London

Louise Lloyd, Cardiff
Jaina Modasia, London
Anya Zhavoronkova, Kent

Outstanding Primary Dance Teaching Award – sponsored by dancewear Central

Bobbie Gargrave, St. Michael’s C of E Primary School
Julie Guile, Saughall All Saints Primary School, Cheshire
Samantha Swallow, Rosehill Primary School, Yorkshire

Outstanding Secondary Dance Teaching Award

Rhys James, St Teilo’s High School, Cardiff
Gemma Richards, Matravers School, Wiltshire
Harriet Simmons, Wildern School, Southampton

Inspirational Community Dance Practitioner Award – sponsored by People Dancing

Meara O’Donnell-Webb, Skye, Scotland
Adam Rutherford, Birmingham
Charlotte Tomlinson, Leicester

Inspiration Work in Education Award – sponsored by Safe in Dance International

DanceEast, Ipswich
Greenwich Dance, London
Hertfordshire County Dance Teachers’ Association

Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire Award – sponsored by DWFM Beckman Solicitors

Anna Hall, Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts
Edel Quin, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music & Dance
Lara Walczak, Leicester College

Most Supportive Senior Leader or Governor Award

Joy Ballard, Ryde Academy, Isle of White
Paul Clark, Matravers School, Wiltshire
Lisa Kattenhorn, Harris Academy Tottenham, London

Above and Beyond Award

Janet Marmot, South East
Pippa Salter, Isle of Man
Lindsey Wise, London

Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Harlequin Floors

Sujata Banerjee, London
Avril Hitman (BEM), Kent
Veronica Jobbins, London